The Re-Up

Whew… I haven’t written on here in a while. And a LOT has happened since I last did. You can bet your bottom dollar that I’ll be writing about all of it (expect a series of posts in the next few days), but first, a brief explanation of my almost six-month hiatus.

I have been sorting myself out.

That is to say, I’ve been trying to figure out what happens when the path towards Corporate America I’ve been happily trudging down is revealing itself to be lined with the bodies of my people. What happens when the things you’re most passionate about run perpendicular to the career path you’ve chosen? Do you stay silent? Swallow those respectability politics? Be the “good Negro”? Or raise hell, knowing you’re burning down the whole damn building you’ve worked meticulously to build? 

In the United States, we’re all expected to play our part. If you want to ‘make it’ in Amerikkka America – Be complacent. Don’t make waves or call attention to the nasty little demons in the corner. Smile. Be nice. 

It’s exhausting.

There have been so, so many horrific things happening across our country. So many of our people being bruised, battered, murdered and I for one, am tired of being silent. There is nothing radical about caring about my people. There is nothing radical about giving a voice to the voiceless or deciding that enough is enough. There is nothing radical about getting good and angry.

So this is the re-up. Take two. I’ve decided it’s time to start writing again – no matter how small my voice is or how much it shakes. 

“If you are silent about your pain, they’ll kill you and say you enjoyed it.” – Zora Neale Hurston

 

Peace and love,

J

Leave a Reply

